Day #15

Busy, blustery day! Flew into the Governor’s waiting room to find my co-sitter of the day, Dianne G. She brought letters from herself and a family member who lives in the Incineration Zone. Dianne lives in the evacuation zone.

I brought more research/paperwork than I intended to, but Jon Chesto’s little piece in The Globe today was packed with informative links.

On the lighter side of things, Chesto’s piece referenced Laura Krantz’s piece mentioning everyone’s action regarding Baker, including my sit-in.

On the heavier side, the links in the story took me to worrisome places: the description of the start of a pro-natural gas campaign (“[to] work with key stakeholders and constituents to encourage implementation of a long-term state energy strategy”), and an Eversource investor conference call transcript. I read the whole transcript. Holy crow. When reading things like this, I have to remind myself that these calls are meant to make big investors feel confident regardless of the realities on the ground.

There are still many things mentioned in the conference call transcript that give me great pause, like continued lobbying to New England Governors, and mentions of getting legislation passed in Massachusetts to enable their needless proposed natural gas infrastructure. Lobbyists are in communication with elected officials every day, which is why I sit every day.

#SitWithAndrea #PolitePersistence

Standard

Leave a Reply

